La Ruta Natural

Rinus Van de Velde, and a selection of works of Kati Heck and from the Frac des Pays de la Loire collection

Rinus Van de Velde

02.07
/ 24.10.21

For the inaugural exhibition dedicating its new site, the Frac des Pays de la Loire entrusted the Belgian artist Rinus Van de Velde (born in 1983 in Louvain), on a proposal by Laurence Gateau, with the task of imagining an exhibition personal, also giving pride of place to a subjective choice in the FRAC’s collections, while opening the horizon to a dialogue with the visual artist Kati Heck (born in 1979 in Düsseldorf).

La Ruta Natural is the eponymous title of a film work, matrix-palindrome of the course. The video – combining filmed images, sets, miniaturized models and accessories – immediately lays the foundations for a dreamlike world. A masked man steps into a car, and it’s the start of an immersive descent into a pasteboard engine room reminiscent of the cogs of a Tinguely. This video work, as a metaphor for the artistic process, finds its origin in the elaboration of the drawings, large meticulously saturated charcoals, for the elaboration of which the artist constructs artisanal staging beforehand. Here, a room with leprous walls which one can enter is also reconstituted: an iron bed will see the final scene play out, in a Lynchian plunge into the unconscious. From then on, Rinus van de Velde built his personal mythology, a life story performed in a plastic incarnation.

Part of the exhibit is also a curatorial device. Indeed, if Rinus Van de Velde invites Kati Heck, in a companionship based on friendship, it is to better illuminate the narrative dimension that these two artists share. Kati paints in oils and on a large scale, where Rinus draws in charcoal; but both create sketches and fictional units. The choice that the artist has made within the Frac collections is very revealing of an aesthetic family in which he fits, favoring a marginal gaze, ignoring the logic of belonging. These include Rosemarie Trockel, John Armleder and Laurent Tixador.
This winding and tormented road is not so natural as it seems: looking at the drawings becomes a reading operation, opening access to the mental cave of artistic production, the better to get out. finally unharmed and resume the path.

La Ruta Natural

Rinus Van de Velde et une sélection d’œuvres de Kati Heck et de la collection du Frac des Pays de la Loire

Rinus Van de Velde

02.07
/ 24.10.21

Pour l’exposition consacrant son nouveau site, le Frac des Pays de la Loire a confié à l’artiste belge Rinus Van de Velde (né en 1983 à Louvain), sur une proposition de Laurence Gateau, le soin d’imaginer une exposition personnelle, faisant aussi la part belle à un choix subjectif dans les collections du Frac, tout en ouvrant l’horizon à un dialogue avec la plasticienne Kati Heck (née en 1979 à Düsseldorf).

La Ruta Natural est le titre éponyme d’une œuvre filmique, matrice-palindrome du parcours. La vidéo — alliant images tournées, décors, maquettes miniaturisées et accessoires — pose d’emblée les fondations d’un monde onirique. Un homme masqué débarque dans une voiture, et c’est le début d’une descente immersive dans une salle des machines de carton-pâte évoquant les rouages crantés d’un Tinguely. Cette œuvre vidéo, en tant que métaphore du processus artistique, trouve son origine dans l’élaboration des dessins, de grands fusains minutieusement saturés, pour l’élaboration desquels l’artiste construit au préalable des mises en scène artisanales. Ici, une chambre aux murs lépreux dans laquelle on peut pénétrer est aussi reconstituée : un lit de fer y verra se jouer la scène finale, en une plongée lynchéenne dans l’inconscient. Dès lors, Rinus van de Velde construit sa mythologie personnelle, un récit de vie performé en une incarnation plastique.

Une partie de l’exposition est également le fruit d’un dispositif curatorial. En effet, si Rinus Van de Velde invite Kati Heck, en un compagnonnage basé sur l’amitié, c’est pour mieux éclairer la dimension narrative que ces deux artistes partagent. Kati peint à l’huile et à grande échelle, là où Rinus dessine au fusain ; mais tous les deux créent saynètes et unités de fiction. Le choix que l’artiste a réalisé au sein des collections du Frac est bien révélateur d’une famille esthétique dans laquelle il s’inscrit, en privilégiant un regard marginal, faisant fi des logiques d’appartenance. Citons notamment à cet égard Rosemarie Trockel, John Armleder ou Laurent Tixador.
Cette route, sinueuse et tourmentée, n’est pas si naturelle qu’elle n’en a l’air : regarder les dessins y devient une opération de lecture, ouvrant l’accès à la caverne mentale de la production artistique, pour mieux sortir enfin indemnes et reprendre le chemin.

Texte : Léa Bismuth