Women at work. Under construction.

collection of the Frac des Pays de la Loire, the Frac Aquitaine, the Frac Lorraine and the IAC-Institute of Contemporary Art of Villeurbanne

Lida Abdul, Marina Abramovic, Lara Almarcegui, Halil Altindere, Maja Bajevic, Bertille Bak, Lili Dujourie, Christelle Familiari, Elise Florenty, Anna Gaskell, Clarisse Hahn, Marie Laet, Adrian Melis, Marge Monko, ORLAN, Daniela Ortiz, Cécile Proust, Lili Reynaud Dewar, Lotty Rosenfeld, Martha Rosler, Raeda Sa’adeh

10.12.21
/ 21.01.22

Why have the works of women artists been and remain so little visible? Can the current awareness be a lasting game changer?

If recent exhibitions in France, Europe and the United States have made it possible to rewrite part of the narrative of a lacunary art history – which had for the most part set aside essential figures of art. – will the phenomenon be strong enough for it to be continued and for us to rediscover the considerable contribution of hundreds of artists that we had little considered? If the place of women in art is now being reconsidered, the situation is far from being fair: women continue to be in the minority, and their visibility to be much lower than their real place in creation.

Based on the collection of the Frac Pays de la Loire and bringing together several funds (those of the Frac Lorraine, Frac Nouvelle-Aquitaine MÉCA, and the Villeurbanne Rhône-Alpes Institute of Contemporary Art), this exhibition favors the reflection carried out in the political and social fields by women artists. The exhibition integrates artists from various geographical and cultural origins and is enriched by so many visions and contributions.

Women at work. Under construction

collection du Frac des Pays de la Loire, du Frac Aquitaine, du Frac Lorraine et de l’IAC-Institut d’art contemporain de Villeurbanne

Lida Abdul, Marina Abramovic, Lara Almarcegui, Halil Altindere, Maja Bajevic, Bertille Bak, Lili Dujourie, Christelle Familiari, Elise Florenty, Anna Gaskell, Clarisse Hahn, Marie Laet, Adrian Melis, Marge Monko, ORLAN, Daniela Ortiz, Cécile Proust, Lili Reynaud Dewar, Lotty Rosenfeld, Martha Rosler, Raeda Sa’adeh

10.12.21
/ 21.01.22

Pourquoi les œuvres de femmes artistes ont été et demeurent si peu visibles ? La prise de conscience actuelle peut-elle changer la donne de manière durable  ?

Si les récentes expositions en France, en Europe et aux États-Unis ont permis de ré-écrire une partie du récit d’une histoire de l’art lacunaire – qui avait pour une grande part mis de côté des figures incontournables de l’art – le phénomène sera-t-il assez fort pour qu’il soit poursuivi et que l’on parvienne à redécouvrir l’apport considérable de centaines d’artistes que l’on avait peu considérées ? Si la place des femmes dans l’art est aujourd’hui reconsidérée, la situation est loin d’être équitable : les femmes continuent d’être minoritaires, et leur visibilité d’être très inférieure à leur place réelle dans la création.

Prenant appui sur la collection du Frac Pays de la Loire et convoquant plusieurs fonds (ceux des Frac Lorraine, Frac Nouvelle-Aquitaine MÉCA, et de l’Institut d’Art Contemporain Villeurbanne Rhône-Alpes), cette exposition privilégie la réflexion portée dans les champs du politique et du social par les artistes femmes. L’exposition intègre des artistes aux origines géographiques et culturelles variées et se trouve enrichie par autant de visions et de contributions.