THE FRAC NEW PLACE

Claas Architectes (Nantes)

Now !

The establishment of the Frac in Nantes, with regular and lasting activities, aims to fully fulfill our desire for the democratization of art and therefore to fulfill our mission of raising awareness among a large public.

Since 2007, the Frac des Pays de la Loire has anchored its presence on the island of Nantes, on the site of the old shipyards, with vast temporary exhibitions allowing a very large public to meet the work of internationally renowned artists (gina pane; Jean-Michel Sanejouand, Thomas Huber), to take advantage of vast thematic sets (Rouge Baiser, Design in, Opening for inventory), to participate in artistic projects (Whatever you do, do something else) and to (re) discover the Frac collection under the ever-changing gaze of curators and artists (Bruno Peinado, Joe Scanlan, Josephine Meckseper …). These exhibitions, attracting nearly 15,000 visitors each year, have enabled the collection to gain unprecedented influence, richer and more varied partnerships throughout the territory and today foreshadow the establishment of the Frac in Nantes, quai des Antilles. , with the opening of a new space planned for the beginning of 2021.

In Nantes, the Frac consolidates a closer network with artists and wishes to be a springboard. It attracts professionals from the art world, art critics, exhibition curators, it consolidates its national and international networks, it creates cross-links between the visual arts and the performing arts, it leads a policy of exchanges and complementarity while asserting its specificity and originality.

This new venue for contemporary art will be conducive to continuing the artistic and cultural program of the Frac, open to emerging artists and internationally renowned creators, to give carte blanche to artists or independent curators to present contemporary works. , including those from the Frac collection, and to present the work produced in Carquefou by the artists in residence within our International Workshops. In this space, we are planning a program of 3 to 4 annual exhibitions. In connection with the exhibitions, small events will regularly liven up the place. They will open the field of visual arts to other forms of creation: dance, music, theater, poetry …

In Carquefou, the exhibition program will be focused on the collection and will favor a new look at it, taking into account the work of reflection and research around the curator, art criticism, conservation and Restoration.

Design :
Claas Architectes (Nantes)

Funding :
Région des Pays de la Loire et État

NOUVELLE ANTENNE DU FRAC

Claas Architectes

Dès à présent !

L’implantation du Frac à Nantes, avec des activités régulières et pérennes a pour objectif d’accomplir pleinement notre désir de démocratisation de l’art et donc de remplir notre mission de sensibilisation d’un large public.

Depuis 2007, le Frac des Pays de la Loire a ancré sa présence sur l’île de Nantes, sur le site des anciens chantiers navals, par de vastes expositions temporaires permettant à un très large public d’aller à la rencontre du travail d’artistes de renommée internationale (gina pane ; Jean-Michel Sanejouand, Thomas Huber), de profiter de vastes ensembles thématiques (Rouge BaiserDesign inOuverture pour inventaire), de participer à des projets artistiques (Quoique tu fasses, fais autre chose) et de (re)découvrir la collection du Frac sous le regard, toujours renouvelé, de commissaires ou d’artistes (Bruno Peinado, Joe Scanlan, Josephine Meckseper…). Ces expositions, attirant près de 15 000 visiteurs chaque année, ont permis un rayonnement sans précédent de la collection, des partenariats plus riches et variés sur l’ensemble du territoire et préfigurent aujourd’hui l’implantation du Frac à Nantes, quai des Antilles, avec l’ouverture d’un nouvel espace prévue pour l’été 2021.

A Nantes, le Frac consolide un réseau plus étroit avec les artistes et souhaite être un tremplin. Il attire les professionnels du monde de l’art, critiques d’art, commissaires d’exposition, il consolide ses réseaux nationaux et internationaux, il suscite des transversalités entre les arts visuels et le spectacle vivant, il anime une politique d’échanges et de complémentarité tout en affirmant sa spécificité et son originalité.

Ce nouveau lieu de l’art contemporain sera propice à poursuivre le programme artistique et culturel du Frac ouvert à des artistes émergents et à des créateurs de renommée internationale, de confier des cartes blanches à des artistes ou à des commissaires indépendants pour présenter des œuvres contemporaines, incluant celles de la collection du Frac, et d’y présenter le travail produit à Carquefou par les artistes en résidences au sein de nos Ateliers Internationaux. Dans cet espace, nous projetons une programmation de 3 à 4 expositions annuelles. En lien avec les expositions, des petits événements viendront animer avec régularité le lieu. Elles ouvriront le champ des arts visuels à d’autres formes de la création : danse, musique, théâtre, poésie…

Conception : Claas Architectes
Financement : Région des Pays de la Loire et État